Skip to content

Young Blue Jays Again.

June 21, 2014

Blue Jays

The last 2 posts here in June have been filled with young critters.  June is definitely a big month for young ones.  I’ve decided to make the whole month ‘post about youngsters’ because I have enough photos about them!

Last week, I had quite an experience with a young Robin and a young Blue Jay in my mother’s front and back yard.  I visited her a week later, and, much to my surprise, the young blue Jay was still around- with some buddies.

0614-3 (11)

Here’s a Locust Tree in my mother’s yard.  I noticed something in its branches and looked closer…

0614-3 (3)

0614-3 (4)

Surely enough- it was a young Blue Jay.  Chances are excellent that this bird is from the same brood that I saw a week ago, the parents of which pecked the back of my head when I rescued it from cats!

0614-3 (1)

0614-3 (2)

Suddenly, there were two youngsters in the tree, hanging out.  They were quiet; they even started dozing.  No doubt their parents were around, though that won’t last for much longer.  There comes a time when a bird has to reach maturity.  Notice how their feathers are looking more and more like adult plumage, compared to the little one from last week’s post.

0614-3 (5)

0614-3 (6)

Eventually I noted 3, and then 4 young birds in the tree- this was the most young Blue Jays I’ve ever seen at once.  It looks like a whole brood had survived and was now fluttering about on their own!

0614-3 (9)

If you look closely in the above picture, the 4 youngsters are starting to flap their wings because their parents are in the tree with them- one of them is on the far right of the picture.  I was very happy to see all of these birds safely up in a tree, away from…

0614-3

…this guy and his friends in the backyard, blissfully napping and unaware of the feathered snacks on the other side of the house.

0614-3 (7)

This young one is really happy to see his parents, and started begging vigorously.  I didn’t notice the parents feeding them, though they kept a watchful eye upon them.  It may be that they are weaning their offspring off of being fed now.  Little birds, it’s time to find your own food…the idyls of childhood are over.  Glad you all made it, and hope to see you around.

One more post about youngsters next week!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2014 10:32 pm

    I’m a little surprised that the parents didn’t attack you again, jays are very protective of their young.

    • June 21, 2014 10:38 pm

      I was very happy not to get attacked this time!

      To be honest, I stayed a bit of a distance away and zoomed in with my camera for pictures. I didn’t want to get another scab on my head!

  2. June 22, 2014 6:34 pm

    It would have been nice if the little one you rescued landed on your shoulder to say thank you. Or maybe not, if the parents were still around.

  3. June 22, 2014 11:07 pm

    Cute little guys!

  4. June 23, 2014 10:21 am

    Good to see them doing so well.

  5. June 23, 2014 11:20 am

    The cat looks as though “butter wouldn’t melt.” I’ve noticed more variety of birds here too lately (northern England) and that’s despite a high cat population!

  6. June 24, 2014 5:02 am

    That is an exciting news. I wish them all the best and that they will be safe. Young ones are so eager to take flight but just as vulnerable to the dangers around them.

  7. June 24, 2014 10:45 am

    These shots are wonderful! I love blue jays, but I remember my mother rapping on the window when she would see one on the bird feeder. She said they kept the smaller birds from getting their share. Looking forward to the next set of pictures!

    • June 24, 2014 12:10 pm

      Thanks, Barbara! I think your mother was onto something- Blue Jays seem to be rather bluff and forward compared to many other birds.

  8. June 28, 2014 9:46 am

    Happy to see that the Blue Jay parents aren’t holding a grudge…

  9. July 31, 2014 3:01 am

    What a treat!

Leave a Reply

