Skip to content

Birding Resources, part 1.

January 18, 2014

I thought I’d highlight some online resources that have been helpful to me, because if there’s one thing that’s changed about the hobby of birding in the last generation, it’s the explosion of information online.  The sharing of sightings by the birder community is a tremendously positive tool.  If I see a rare bird, I can easily tell others about it and they can have a decent chance of seeing it too.

The Ohio Birds listserv is a webpage I look at a few times a day.  This webpage is part of a much larger network called Birding on the Net, which has pages for other states and links to nationwide and worldwide resources.

Ohio Birds

A listserv in this context is a webpage that users can add a posting to, sort of like an early internet version of an online forum.  This wonderful webpage allows birders across the state to share their bird observations, knowledge, and other pertinent information about the hobby.  Imagine all of this info only being shared from mouth to mouth and you can see how useful it is in increasing knowledge.

ob

botn

I stumbled across the Ohio Birds listserv years ago when I saw it linked from the Ohio Ornithological Society webpage.  This organization (I am a member) brings together all of the local birding groups in Ohio and brings them to the attention of a wider audience.

OOS

The OOS has some nifty resources, such as official Ohio bird count lists and links to interesting blogs.  One of my favorite resources there is a very informative site-by-site exploration of birding hotspots in the state, letting you know what birds you can expect to see in particular seasons.  Another favorite is the Birder’s Almanac by veteran birder Bill Whan which gives you a general overview of each month in Ohio and what can be seen.

Birding in January:

jan

One other resource I have to point out is Cornell University’s All About Birds site, which I frequently use to look up specific information on bird species.  There’s all sorts of info there, and a nifty collection of bird cams showing birds live on nests and at feeders.

aab

wt

As you can see there is a wealth of knowledge about birding online, and soon I’ll discuss a particular website that is revolutionizing the hobby and even the science of birding.  Stay tuned!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2014 4:39 pm

    There is a lot of stuff put there. It’s finding the stuff I need that I find hard.

    • January 19, 2014 9:04 pm

      I hear you, Tootlepedal!

      When I think of how hard it used to be to find rare birds, the internet is a Godsend. In my younger days there was a Bird Hotline one could call that played a recording of recent rare bird sightings. That was as sophisticated as it got (other than word of mouth) before the World Wide Web.

  2. January 20, 2014 2:21 pm

    Hi Seasons, Nice listing of various birding resources Online. Though most are for up North, the resources would be useful for others who live elsewhere, too. Nicely done!

    • January 20, 2014 4:32 pm

      Thanks, Wildlifewatcher! Your winter is significantly milder than Ohio’s winter, that’s for sure! 🙂

  3. January 21, 2014 6:24 am

    I wish there was as much good, reliable information for plants. There is a lot of erroneous info. out there on them so you have to be careful.

    • January 21, 2014 10:09 am

      You know, I’ve said the exact same thing, Gardener! Plants are often easier to see, but harder to identify (compared to birds). I wish there was the same quality of info online about plants as there is about birds.

Trackbacks

  1. Birding Resources, part 2 – eBird. | Seasons Flow

Leave a Reply

