Skip to content

Spring Warbler Roundup.

June 15, 2013

The favorite part of spring migration for me is seeing all of the wood warblers who’ve spent the winter hundreds or thousands of miles to the south.  Migration is over now, so here’s a peek at some of the warblers I saw this past season.  They seemed to work extra hard at hiding from my lens this year, that’s always a challenge!  But this was balanced out by being able to hold a Mourning Warbler in my hands.  So there you go, nature’s balance 🙂

613-3 (2)

This Black and White Warbler I caught hopping between trees

613-3 (3)

This Black-Throated Blue Warbler posed just long enough for me to get a picture

613-3 (4)

Black-Throated Green Warblers seem to be less shy of me than many other warblers

613-3 (5)

A beautiful Blackburnian Warbler is a burst of color and motion

613-3 (7)

This Blue-Winged Warbler was quite the acrobat

613-3 (8)

A Hooded Warbler sings from the canopy

613-3 (9)

A handsome Nashville Warbler

613-3 (11)

Ovenbirds are rather shy, so I was happy to get this photo – looks like a Wood Thrush!

613-3 (12)

Palm Warblers can frequently be seen foraging on the ground

613-3 (13)

Here’s a female American Redstart

613-3 (15)

This Yellow Warbler posed nicely for me

613-3 (16)

Yellow-Rumped Warblers are common early in migration season

613-3 (17)

Yellow-Throated Warblers are more often heard than seen

613-3 (18)

Common Yellowthroats frequently hide in thickets

If you didn’t get to see these beauties recently, you’ll have another chance this autumn- though they’ll typically be in duller feathers than in the spring- mating season will be over, and young birds will be making their first migration.  A good tip to prospective birders is to start birdwatching in the spring, because the autumn is a bigger challenge when it comes to identifying birds.  But it is always fun!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2013 1:56 am

    That’s a pretty good total for the spring, especially since they can be so difficult to photograph as fast as they move!

    • June 16, 2013 8:07 am

      They can drive you crazy if you let them! 😉 It makes getting the pictures that much sweeter when you do get them.

  2. June 16, 2013 5:45 am

    Enjoyed your pics! We’ve had a great time looking for warblers this spring and have done amazingly well right here in central Ohio.

  3. June 16, 2013 8:59 am

    I’m a warbler lover, as you know from my blog, and loved seeing your bird photos! I miss them already and look forward to seeing a few in the fall as they come through!

  4. June 16, 2013 1:23 pm

    Well I am still failing at photographing birds even with the new camera. Will just have to visit yours I guess!

    • June 16, 2013 7:18 pm

      Keep practicing, Inger! I am by no means a good photographer- it’s all about practice, which means taking LOTS of bad photos as you learn to take some good ones. Talk to veteran photographers and I bet you’ll hear from them that they take more poor-quality photos than good ones. Keep at it!

  5. June 16, 2013 9:58 pm

    You had a great day warbling!

  6. June 18, 2013 1:05 am

    These are all great shots! I would love to see all of those birds!

  7. June 19, 2013 9:13 am

    Wow, how beautiful – I have heard most of those names, because I do some work occasionally for a birding company, but I hadn’t seen photos of the birds. Lovely shot of the Black-and-White Warbler in mid-leap!

  8. June 19, 2013 4:56 pm

    Wonderful photos! The photos of Yellow-Throated Warbler and Black-Throated Green Warbler are my favorites!

    • June 19, 2013 7:47 pm

      Thanks, Prairiebirder- the Black Throated Green is my favorite too. It was the only one that posed nicely for its portrait!

  9. June 19, 2013 8:40 pm

    Hi Seasons, Other than a pet Parakeet, I have never held any type of bird. Your series of photographs of all these warblers are wonderful! Have a fine Thurs. tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

