Skip to content

Along Big Darby Creek in Summer.

September 8, 2012

Here’s some images I took while I was hiking along Big Darby Creek last month.  Walking along a river is a pleasant experience- there is a lot going on along its banks.  Every once in a while, it’s a worthwhile habit to stand still in an interesting area and look closely at what’s going on around you.  You start noticing things that you never would have noticed otherwise.  Here’s some of the things I saw, starting out with ‘the big picture’ and focusing down to individual events and creatures of interest.  Keep an eye out for Lizard’s Tail aquatic plants, a Green Heron, Damselflies, Water Beetles, Water Striders and a Question Mark Butterfly.  Also a Cottonwood Tree leaf- these seem to be unseasonably yellow fairly often.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2012 12:05 am

    Lovely shots, you found all kinds of treasure. 🙂 We had more dragon and damsel flies this year than ever, but I’m not seeing many now.

    • September 9, 2012 7:44 pm

      Thanks Patti- The Damselflies in particular seemed to have a good year in my neck of the woods 🙂

  2. September 9, 2012 3:47 am

    Lovely. So much greenery, and I love the studies of the insects, the water and the rocks. It looks very tranquil.

    • September 9, 2012 7:47 pm

      Thanks Jo, this creek is a natural treasure- as a matter of fact, its watershed was declared both a state and federal scenic river.

  3. September 9, 2012 8:15 am

    What beautiful shots! Creeks are always so much fun to explore.

  4. September 9, 2012 9:11 am

    Some well spent moments here.

  5. September 9, 2012 2:04 pm

    W.S….looks like the water is down a bit this time of year…I’m sure you have seen it, probably we have seen it, higher in early spring…I’m sure you have visited this creek before…I just can’t remember for sure…but lucky for you, with the drought on, you still have lots of water…good shots…reminds me of a creek I know in Minnesota…thanks…

    • September 9, 2012 7:51 pm

      Many thanks, Jim! Lots of ponds and wetlands here have mostly dried up, but the creeks and rivers seem to be holding up better- though the water level is lower. I grew up along the Big and Little Darby Creeks and enjoy visiting them greatly.

  6. September 9, 2012 2:51 pm

    Loved the light playing on the ripples in the water… the insects, especially the butterfly. What great shadow play on the water… loved them!

    • September 9, 2012 7:52 pm

      Thanks Robin- those ripples and the churning water were caused by swarms of Water Beetles, it was fascinating to watch them scoot around in 1s and 2s or to see many of them together moving so much that the water looked like it was boiling!

  7. September 10, 2012 12:06 am

    What a lovely wild place. You capture it’s beauty and serenity perfectly. I feel like I’m there with you. 🙂

  8. September 10, 2012 9:40 am

    I spend a lot of time at places just like this. It’s where I find many of the wildflowers that I post.

  9. September 11, 2012 9:41 am

    What a lovely stroll!

  10. September 11, 2012 10:27 pm

    Thanks for taking us along on that lovely walk!

  11. September 12, 2012 10:59 pm

    That stream flows through a very beautiful area. What a great place to wander through!

  12. September 15, 2012 1:59 pm

    Hi Seasons, Nifty set of pictures. I also love walking along streams. I guess I am very attracted to water – ponds, lakes, creeks, or rivers, or even the ocean. Have a wonderful day!

    • September 16, 2012 10:19 am

      Thanks wildlifewatcher! I think there’s something about water that intrigues many of us, since we spend our lives on solid ground. It’s interesting to see how other things are!

  13. September 29, 2012 12:14 pm

    I was debating if I should head out for a wander in the woods today – you convinced me! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Big Darby Headwaters Nature Preserve. | Seasons Flow

Leave a Reply

