Skip to content

August in Ohio.

August 20, 2011

August.  Summer is hanging on, but you can feel the change coming.

There’s a certain feel to late summer; it’s a pleasant vibe.

Mornings are cooler, a relief from the recent heat.  Out in the farm fields, crops are maturing.

This heron is enjoying some late summer sunbathing.  Let the season take care of itself for now.

Insects are prominent this month.  The cicadas are louder than ever; the cricket chorus is building.  Grasshoppers are plentiful.  Butterflies, the occasional katydid, they are hard to miss.

Spiderwebs are noticeable in the morning dew.

In meadows, wild grasses are prominent.

Wetlands are drying up, water levels going down.  The abundance of spring and early summer is over.

Birds seem to know that change is coming soon. There are some late nesters, but they are the exception.  One notices less singing in the morning air.  Blackbirds are flocking together now that they have raised their young.  Canada Geese are starting to join together in fields- one morning, they will decide to fly south.

Wildflowers are in transition this month.  Late summer has not given way to autumn’s goldenrods and asters just yet.  Here are some of the transition flowers in bloom now- how many do you recognize?  And it’s curious how yellow is the predominant color.

Autumn is not far off.  It won’t be long now.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 8:43 pm

    I’m not ready for autumn yet, but I see it in your photos – yep, it’s on its way. The mist is a sure sign that change is in the air. A lovely set of photos to show the subtle changes at work!

  2. August 20, 2011 11:40 pm

    It’s definitely beginning to change here too. I am not anxious for the snow yet.

  3. August 21, 2011 11:35 am

    A beautiful post, one of my favorites. I love autumn. Just want winter to stay at bay for a bit.

  4. August 21, 2011 4:18 pm

    I love the road and the sun through the trees. Also, those clouds, like lily pads on an inverted blue pond…. Jane

  5. Barbara Rodgers permalink
    August 22, 2011 7:13 am

    The morning glory is so pretty… Change is in the air here, too. The seasons seem to blend over into each other so that the change is gradual, not like someone flipping a switch. Gives us time to savor and adjust… A lovely collection of pictures!

  6. August 22, 2011 6:09 pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone! Autumn is my favorite season, so I like the fact that there’s a hint of it in the morning air now. However, it’s a bittersweet feeling to lose the warmth of summer. I’m sure I’ll remember that by January! 🙂

  7. August 22, 2011 6:41 pm

    I’m looking forward to autumn. Our goldenrod has been blooming for about a week or so, and the asters are blooming now too. It seems kind of early.

    Wonderful photos. You captured this time of year in Ohio really well. 🙂

    • August 22, 2011 10:13 pm

      Thanks Robin! I’ve seen some patches of goldenrod here and there starting to turn yellow too.

  8. August 25, 2011 7:35 am

    Wonderful photos! You can really “feel” the end of summer in them!

  9. September 5, 2011 12:48 pm

    I’m so anxious for Autumn to arrive here in North Central PA and I can’t wait to see what you share from Ohio’s Autumn. I love your pictures in this series. I’m not sure how I got behind, but I missed a few blogs… catching up now, can’t miss your incredible photos. 🙂

    • September 5, 2011 1:55 pm

      Autumn is my favorite season Robin, I can’t wait too! 🙂

      Thanks for the kind comment!

  10. September 8, 2011 5:17 am

    Ohio is so beautiful . Your photos on the transitions between late Summer-Early Fall brings out the magic that most of us don’t see. I miss Summer, so much great memories, but now that I could feel the cold, refreshing early mornings greeting me as I leave work to head home, I felt a nostalgic feeling of the sweet moments of this season. Now I’m ready for what Fall has to unfold. Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. August in Ohio. (via Seasons Flow) « My Visual Journey
  2. Long, Languorous Tomorrows
  3. Long, Languorous Tomorrows

Leave a Reply

