Skip to content

July in Ohio.

July 20, 2011

July means high summer, a time when the world slows down a bit in the heat.  Nature is settling in for the sunny season.  It’s a very green and lush world out there, as long as the occasional afternoon rains happen often enough.

You hear less bird song than you did in the spring, though there are some diehards out there in the heat singing away.  This Indigo Bunting sang enthusiastically while I took pictures of him.

Many birds are winding up their nesting activities, though you can still see and hear juveniles being fed.  You’ll encounter young birds tagging along with their parents in the trees and on the ground.  Some birds are working on additional clutches of eggs, or are just late nesters, like American Goldfinches.  You may notice groups of young birds hanging out together- Barn and Tree Swallows, for instance, who have left the care of their hard-working parents and are now enjoying their youth.

The cicadas can be heard making their racket from nearby trees.  This is the classic sign of high summer to me.  Common Nighthawks cry from above at twilight, replacing the soaring patrol of Turkey Vultures during the day.

In meadows, prairie plants are coming to life.  Black Eyed Susans are joined by other colorful wildflowers.  And in the woods, the mysteriously-named Enchanter’s Nightshade can be seen.  Here’s a Common Yellowthroat, another July songster, sitting in a Tall Coreopsis in a prairie meadow.

Berries are to be found to eat this month, one of the pleasures of the season for both people and wildlife.

Enjoy summer!  At least when the heat index isn’t in the triple digits…early morning is best for me.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 3:22 pm

    Love it, and your blog!

  2. July 20, 2011 3:29 pm

    So glad you found my photoblog, I followed you home… LOL I love these pictures and everything I’ve seen of your blog so far. I need to spend some time here, I think. 🙂

  3. July 20, 2011 6:49 pm

    Wonderful post Tracy! Love the birds against the red roof. Also when you post photos outside the nature realm. Fun departure. It i’s hotter than Haiti in DC!hey like the new site changes too.

  4. July 20, 2011 7:25 pm

    I second that love for the red roof flock of swallows.

  5. July 20, 2011 11:09 pm

    Such pretty photos. I miss the countryside!

  6. July 21, 2011 3:30 pm

    Ah, the dog days of summer! You captured them well, and the bird pictures were great. So hard to capture, and you did it!

  7. July 21, 2011 6:07 pm

    Eating the fruit is what summer is all about

  8. July 22, 2011 1:18 pm

    Lovely post. Your photos and descriptive thoughts are fabulous, I feel like I too took a walk in July in Ohio. 🙂

  9. July 22, 2011 9:48 pm

    I hope everyone is beating the heat this particular July- that’s a challenge with the weather pattern we have now!

  10. changingmoods permalink
    July 23, 2011 2:23 am

    That Indigo Bunting is the prettiest bird I’ve seen.

    • July 24, 2011 11:39 am

      It’s one of my favorites- it’s a summer bird here in Ohio, a welcome splash of color in the hot weather.

  11. August 18, 2011 12:02 pm

    wish they had thought of teaching us “history” this way – your pictures and words transported me, this is an America I never could have discovered any other way than through the words and pictures here, rue the fact that I had to view it with a computer with a tiny tiny screen 🙂 someday I would see it with a projector in school with my students 🙂

Leave a Reply

