Skip to content

A Chance Encounter with Beautiful Animals.

June 2, 2011

White-Tailed Deer

On Memorial Day, I spent the warm and sunny morning at a favorite central Ohio park of mine.  Walking through the woods, I turned a corner on a path, and this is what I saw.  Notice what’s on the path in the distance.

I zoomed in the camera lens for a closer shot.

Mother doe goes into the woods and baby fawn follows at a casual pace.

This was an encounter with Ohio’s official state mammal, White-Tailed Deer.  What gorgeous creatures!  Native to much of North and Central America, they get their name from the color of the underside of their tails, which can be prominently raised as an alarm signal to other deer.  It’s hard to believe, but this common animal, which proliferated in Ohio after the end of the last Ice Age, was all but extinct in the state by 1904.  Settlers had cleared its forest habitat, and hunters had thinned the population greatly-our slang word for a dollar, ‘buck’, comes from buckskins that were used as trade goods in the pioneer days.  By the 1950s, the population had recovered enough to begin a state-wide hunting season for them once more.  They are currently plentiful, kept only in check by hunters- they no longer have any remaining animal predators, not counting cars (Ohio unfortunately has one of the highest deer-car collision rates in the country).  Imagine an Ohio where cougars and wolves hunted deer- it’s been a while since those times.

I walked further down the path that fine morning, and suddenly, not 30 feet away to my left, I saw another doe, who was watching me.

I was reminded of the time that I saw 2 deer cross a rural road right in front of my (stopped) car.  After crossing, one looked back at me, almost as if she were trying to fathom what she was looking at (I imagine I would look the same way if an alien spacecraft landed 30 feet away from me).  It seems there’s an element of curiosity at work.

As I held perfectly still, the doe started eating nearby foliage, never taking her eyes off of me.

After a morning nibble, she then slowly turned and walked away, leaving me to reflect on a chance encounter with nature’s beauty.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 12:55 pm

    really like this !!!!! very enjoyable to read

  2. June 3, 2011 1:54 am

    Your pictures are wonderful. I think encounters with wildlife like this are so enchanting. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. June 3, 2011 8:57 am

    Beautiful pictures,wonderful creatures. The forest near us is full of deer and wild boar but the French passion for hunting them prevents me from catching sight of them.

  4. June 3, 2011 12:53 pm

    Hi Watching Seasons, What a cool blog you have! I am so glad you visited my blog and I got acquainted with this fine blog. I will be a regular here! Excellent photographs! Have a tremendously nice day today.

  5. June 3, 2011 4:43 pm

    Hi

    Great pictures.

    Now I’m envious.

    • June 3, 2011 6:33 pm

      Hah, thanks jumbo but I got really lucky, being in the right place at the right time around some animals who aren’t terribly afraid of people who come walking through their habitat 🙂

  6. Roket Man permalink
    June 3, 2011 10:35 pm

    Thanks for the visit this evening. Glad you enjoyed what you saw. I loved the series here. You have an new follower and I can’t wait to see what you capture next.

  7. June 4, 2011 1:25 am

    Great series of shots! I love seeing the fawn. So far I haven’t seen a fawn here yet, but we did have a cow elk with her calf in the back yard a few days ago. It’s so good to see the deer and especially when they are undisturbed ad they were with you.

  8. June 4, 2011 7:35 am

    Wonderful pics! Your post lets me feel how majestic and gentle these creatures are!

  9. June 4, 2011 9:37 am

    Great pictures. The skill is in being in the right place at the right time. I never am.

  10. June 5, 2011 7:41 am

    Adorable fawn, precious sight indeed

  11. June 5, 2011 8:33 am

    What a lovely chance encounter! I remember the thrill and excitement of seeing beautiful animals up close at a safari. Truly amazing.

  12. artistatexit0 permalink
    June 5, 2011 12:06 pm

    Enjoyed your post and photographs. The white-tail deer is a hugh success story in Kentucky. We are now at the point where there may be too many of them and they are moving into urban areas.

  13. June 5, 2011 5:29 pm

    Thanks for all the encouraging comments- I hope I can find additional cooperative wildlife in the future 🙂

  14. June 8, 2011 5:36 pm

    What great pictures of the deer! We have a few in the woods here, but they like to hide. I think deer are just beautiful though.

  15. June 8, 2011 8:56 pm

    What a beautiful job of capturing that “chance encounter.” The pictures are breath-taking and precious. Thank you!

  16. July 20, 2011 3:35 pm

    Love these pictures. I have encountered some White tail deer as well. They are beautiful creatures. I felt like I was right there on the path with you! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Phantoms of the Forest. « Seasons Flow

Leave a Reply

